Alok Vaid-Menon will present a new poetry and comedy show in Australia and New Zealand this month

Internationally acclaimed performance artist, Alok Vaid-Menon (they/them), will bring his new poetry and comedy show to Australia and New Zealand this month.

The tour will see Alok take the stage in Sydney* on Monday September 19, before heading to Brisbane on Tuesday September 20, Perth on Wednesday September 21, Melbourne on Thursday September 22, then Auckland on Friday September 23.

Tour dates

Monday 19 September Factory Theater Sydney*

Tuesday 20 September Princess Theater Brisbane

Wednesday 21 September Astor Theater Perth

Thursday 22 September Alex Theater Melbourne

Thursday 22 September Alex Theater Melbourne [LATE SHOW]

Friday 23 September SkyCity Theater Auckland

*Sydney show presented in association with the Festival of Dangerous Ideas.

Tickets are on sale now. Visit www.tegdainty.com.

Alok’s work explores themes of trauma, belonging and the human condition.

In 2021 they headlined the New York Comedy Festival and this year they headlined the Just for Laughs Festival in Vancouver and performed at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival last month.

They are the author of Beyond the Gender Binary (2020) which has been described as a “clarion call for a new approach to gender in the 21st century” and the poetry collections Femme in Public (2017) and Your Wound / My Garden (2021).

On screen, they recently wrapped the Netflix/Blumhouse feature film ABSOLUTE DOMINION. They have also appeared in the Netflix documentary series Getting Curious with Jonathan Van Ness, the HBO late-night sketch series Random Acts of Flyness and the documentary The Trans List.

Javier E. Swan