Prestigious Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards announce nominees for Best Comedy Show and Best Newcomer

Longtime director of Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards, Nica Burns, today announced the nominees for the Biggest Live Comedy Awards, Best Comedy Show and Best Newcomer Awards, celebrating the best in established and up-and-coming comedy at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Nica Burns, Director of Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards, says of this year’s nominees: “2022 has indeed been an outstanding year with a high level of comedy across the Fringe. Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards nominees represent a wide cross-section of comedic genres created by comedians whose material is drawn from their rich array of backgrounds and experiences.The Fringe has bounced back with a bang, with audiences clearly enjoying laughing together, live.

Dave Channel Manager Cherie Cunningham says:

“Spending two weeks immersed in a whirlwind of comedy fantasy at the Fringe has been a magical experience. It’s inspiring to find so many great talents who are our comedic future.”

This year’s nominees include:

Best Comedy Show

Alfie Brown: Sensitive Man @ Monkey Barrel Comedy

Colin Hoult: The death of Anna Mann @ Pleasance Courtyard, under

Jordan Gray: Is it a bird? @ Assembly, George Square

Josh Pugh: Sausage, Egg, Josh Pugh, Chips & Beans @ Monkey Barrel Comedy

Larry Dean: Fudnut @Monkey Barrel Comedy

Lauren Pattison: It is what it is @ Monkey Barrel Comedy

Liz Kingsman: One-Woman Show @ Traverse Theater

Sam Campbell: Comedy Show @ Monkey Barrel Comedy

Senn Walsh: is dead. Happy now? @ The Stand Comedy Club

The Delicious Sausage: Nowt but Sea – Amy Gledhill and Chris Cantrill with Paul Dunphy @ Monkey Barrel 4

Best Newcomer

Amy Gledhill: The Girl Before The Girl You Marry @ Monkey Barrel Comedy – Carnivore

Emily Wilson: Fixed @ Pleasance Courtyard – Under

Emmanuel Sonubi: Emancipated @ Underbelly, Bristol Square

Josh Jones: Wasting Space @ Pleasance Courtyard – Bunker 3

Lara Ricote: GRL/LATNX/DEF @ Monkey Barrel Comedy – La Ruche

Leo Reich: Who cares? ! @ Pleasance Courtyard – Baby Grand

Vittorio Angelone: ​​Translations @ Monkey Barrel Comedy – Carnivore

This year’s panelists, who judged nearly 600 eligible shows, are:

Adnan Ahmed, President: Producer, Sky Studios Comedy

Cherie Cunningham: Channel Manager, Dave

Ashley Davies: freelance arts journalist, Metro Scotland and Times Scotland’s Alba

Joe Hullait: Commissioning Manager, Channel 4 Comedy

Isobel Lewis: comedy critic and cultural journalist, freelance

Dominic Maxwell: comedy critic, The Times

Pete Strauss: Executive Producer, BBC Studios Audio

Paul Abbey: Winner of the public competition

Jo Kinsella: winner of the public competition

Monique May Munroe: winner of the public competition

The awards are sponsored by the Dave Comedy Channel, in an effort to further celebrate and support comics, from those entering the industry to highly regarded names.

The prize money for Best Comedy Show is £10,000, with £5,000 each for Best Newcomer and Panel Prize winner.

There will be a nominee photoshoot and gala taping on the morning of Thursday, August 25. The 40th Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards will take place on Saturday August 27.

Javier E. Swan